CDP 4 User Manual

Manage Persons

Plugin: Site Directory Element Browsers Module

Introduction

Within the Concurrent Design Platform a user account is used to identify a person working with the application. A user account holds information such as a name, login name, CDP™ password and contact details. The name and contact details are visible to other users.

The user account by itself does not yet enable a user to participate in a Concurrent Design activity. The account is linked to a specific engineering domain to allow for a workspace in the current activity option. To allow the user to actually work with the CDP™ a user role is granted. The role describes the granted functionalities and rights.

This section describes the management actions to create users of the CDP™.

Manage Persons in a Site Directory

The CDP™ is a user based system, meaning that actual persons get access to the system based on a login name and a password. This is done using the ECSS-E-TM-10-25 concept of Persons. Opening a site RDL or opening a specific CDP™ activity, i.e. an engineering model, gives CDP™ Administrators or Persons with the appropriate permissions in their role assignment the possibility to Create, Edit and Delete users. It also allows viewing all persons in the Site Directory of the selected data source.

To get an overview of the persons open the Person Browser by selecting the Persons img icon on the Directory tab. This browser gives an overview of the existing persons with First Name, Last Name, Organization and Description.

By expanding a person, the engineering models they are assigned to as participants are listed, together with their domain acronym(s) and participant role. Persons cannot be assigned as participant to an engineering model with a specific participant role from this browser; for this, see the topic on how to create a team.

Persons with a role that has the permission Modify on the ClassKind Person are able to access the Person Browser and create, edit or delete persons.

A description of the available functionalities is given below. Next to these it is possible to use the generic functionality using the Search img and Help img icons. To make sure the latest data is shown in the browser, it is always possible to refresh it using the Refresh img icon.

img

Create Person

To create a new person, select the Create Person img icon or in the context menu select Create a Person. On the Basic tab, provide the mandatory fields for User Name, Given Name and a Surname. Note that these fields are only enough to create person as a placeholder that will require further editing, and are not enough for a person to be able to login to the CDP™ and perform any actions. For this it is in any case required that a Person Role is specified, see the details in the topic on person roles, and a password is set. To set the password, select the Edit img icon behind the field for the Password and provide a valid password and password confirmation. A person should also be activated by ticking the Active check box.

Furthermore it is possible to specify a Default Domain for a person; see the details on how to create a team for a description of how this default domain is used. Other optional fields are Organizational Unit and Organization.

On the Emails, Telephone Numbers and Preferences tabs, it is possible to provide additional information with the standard functionality of Create img, Edit img, Inspect img and Delete img entries for these. For emails provide a Type and the Email Address, for telephone numbers provide a Type and Number, and for preferences provide a Short Name and Value.

After providing the required details, click Ok to create the person.

img

Edit Person

To edit a person, select the Edit person imgicon or in the context menu select Edit. It is possible to edit all the available fields on the Basic tab, as well as the extra items on the additional tabs. Unticking the Active check box will take away the access rights of the person, essentially locking the person out of the CDP™. This setting can be applied to persons that currently should not have any access to the CDP™ on the applicable data source. When this is again needed, e.g. if the person will participate in a new CD study, the person can be activated again. After making the required changes, click Ok.

The browsers in the CDP™ Client of the user that performed the editing action will be updated immediately. Other CDP™ Clients will be updated with a [refresh][Refresh].

On the Advanced tab, a Revision Number is given.

Inspect Person

To inspect a person, select the Inspect Person imgicon or in the context menu select Inspect. In the Inspect modal dialog, all the details can be seen on the Basic, Emails, Telephone Numbers and Preferences tabs. Additionally the status of the person is given by the check box for Deprecated, see the description of Delete below.

The Advanced tab provides information that may be useful mostly to CDP™ database administrators. Given are the UniqueID and the Revision Number.

Delete Person

A person should not be deleted from the CDP™; instead a person should have the check box for Active unticked if he does not require access to the CDP™ anymore. Access can be restored through reactivating a person by a person with the appropriate permissions in a Person Role to manage persons.

To delete a person, select the Delete Person imgicon or in the context menu select Delete. Items from the CDP™ are never completely deleted, but they are marked as Deprecated. This Deprecated status is an indication to users that it should not be used anymore.

Export Person

To export a person, select the Export Person img icon.

Related Topics

Last modified 11 months ago.

^ Top